A Word from our Superior General

Our Pope Francis never seems to want to do things halfway. He especially does not do so when it comes to reminding Christ's disciples of the missionary dimension of their baptism. He has therefore decided to make a major move for October 2019. Two events of great importance for our entire Church will be held during this month.

Usually we celebrate World Mission Sunday on the third Sunday in October. This year, the Pope has summoned the whole Church to make October an "Extraordinary Month of Mission”. It is under the theme Baptized and sent: the Church of Christ on Mission in the World that, throughout the month of October, we will be invited to return to the sources of our Christian vocation at the service of proclaiming the Gospel and building the Kingdom of God.

October will also mark the holding, in Rome, of a Synod of the Bishops which will focus on the presence, mission and activity of the Church in the Amazon region.  This vast region of the globe, which includes to some extent nine (9) South American countries, is of particular interest to the rest of the world because of its ecological importance. We need only think of the issue of the fires that are devastating the forests of this vital ecosystem. They have repercussions for people all over the world. The title given to this ecclesial meeting is as follows: Synod for Amazonia: New Paths for the Church and for an Integral Ecology.  This Synod is of great importance for the universal Church.

The different themes that will be discussed in relation to the Amazon region can have repercussions for all the baptized in all the particular Churches. Some of the topics on the agenda include: the relationship of human beings with nature, the encounter of the Gospel and cultures, new ministries.
May the month of October 2019 therefore help us to rekindle the flame of our baptism and renew our missionary commitment to follow Jesus Christ.




Martin Laliberté, pmé
September 2, 2019

Mot du Supérieur Général

Le pape François ne semble jamais vouloir faire les choses à moitié. Il ne le fait surtout pas quand il s’agit de rappeler aux  disciples du Christ la dimension missionnaire de leur baptême. Il a donc décidé de frapper un grand coup pour octobre 2019. Deux événements de grande importance pour toute notre Église se tiendront au cours de ce mois.

Habituellement nous célébrons, le troisième dimanche d’octobre, le Dimanche Missionnaire Mondial. Cette année, le Pape a convoqué toute l’Église à faire du mois d’octobre un « Mois Missionnaire Extraordinaire. » C’est sous le thème  Baptisés et envoyés : l’Église du Christ en mission dans le monde que, pendant tout le mois d’octobre, nous serons invités à retourner aux sources de notre vocation chrétienne au service de l’annonce de l’Évangile et de la construction du Royaume.

Octobre marquera aussi la tenue, à Rome, d’un Synode des évêques qui se penchera sur  la présence, la mission et  l’activité de l’Église en Amazonie.  Cette vaste région du globe qui touche neuf (9) pays d’Amérique du Sud retient particulièrement l’attention du reste de la planète de par son importance sur le plan écologique. On n’a qu’à penser à la question des feux qui dévastent les forêts de cet écosystème vital pour tous. Ils ont des répercussions pour les habitants de la Terre entière. Le titre donné à ce rendez-vous ecclésial est le suivant : Synode pour l'Amazonie : Nouveaux Chemins pour l'Église et pour une Écologie intégrale.  Ce Synode revêt une grande importance  pour l’Église universelle. 

Les différents thèmes abordés en lien avec la région amazonienne  peuvent avoir des répercussions sur l’ensemble des croyants de toutes les Églises particulières. Voici quelques-uns des sujets à l’ordre du jour: relations de l’être humain avec la nature, rencontre de l’Évangile et des cultures, nouveaux ministères.
Que le mois d’octobre 2019 nous aide donc à raviver la flamme de notre baptême et à renouveler notre engagement missionnaire à la suite du Christ.




Martin Laliberté, pmé
2 septembre 2019